Nov. 4: Georgia issues 6 new medical marijuana dispensary licenses, bringing the statewide total to 28
State licensing records list six ACTIVE dispensing licenses issued Nov. 4 — two for Trulieve in Atlanta and four for True Bliss — as regulators prepare a Nov. 16–20 application window with the patient registry near 65,000.
Authorship warning
One or more sources supporting this report could not be confirmed as the work of a credited author or an identifiable official body. The signals behind that assessment are listed with each source citation below.
Georgia's Access to Medical Cannabis Commission added six new medical marijuana dispensing licenses on Nov. 4, bringing the statewide total of active dispensing licenses to 28, according to the commission's public Verify a License page, which was last updated that afternoon. The Marijuana Herald reported the same six approvals on Nov. 5, matching the official list by licensee and location.
What the commission posted
The commission's licensing table lists DISP0025 through DISP0030 as issued on Nov. 4, 2026, each with an "ACTIVE" status. Two went to Trulieve GA, Inc., for Atlanta locations labeled Northwest Atlanta and Camp Creek. Four went to entities doing business as True Bliss Dispensary, operated under TheraTrue Georgia's retail chain, for Atlanta, Fayetteville, Marietta and Buford.
An active listing does not by itself mean a storefront is open to patients. The commission's page records license status, issue and expiration dates, and location labels; it does not state opening dates. The Marijuana Herald likewise noted that the six licenses appear as active in the state's database without confirming that each location has begun sales.
Who holds the 28 licenses
Counting the active dispensing rows on the Nov. 4 update yields 28 licenses. The Marijuana Herald reported that the six approvals raised Trulieve's Georgia dispensary licenses from seven to nine and True Bliss from four to eight, and that Georgia's active dispensing licenses are held under five brand names: Trulieve, True Bliss, Botanical Sciences, Fine Fettle and Treevana Remedy. Independent pharmacies that dispense certain low-THC products sit under a separate Board of Pharmacy system and are not part of that 28-license dispensary count.
How Georgia's cap works
Georgia does not open dispensary licenses to every applicant. The Marijuana Herald's Nov. 4 report on a related commission announcement said the state has two Class 1 and four Class 2 medical marijuana production licensees, and that only those existing licensed producers may apply for additional dispensary licenses. Under the statutory ladder described in that coverage, each producer starts with five dispensaries and can gain more as the patient registry crosses set thresholds, including one additional license at 25,000 patients and another for each further increase of 10,000 patients.
The Nov. 4 approvals leave producers at a current maximum of nine dispensaries each, the Herald reported, with a move to 10 per producer if the registry reaches 65,000. Reaching that mark could allow up to 60 dispensaries statewide, the paper said, but the extra slots are not automatic: producers still have to apply and win approval.
The next application window
At the same Nov. 4 commission meeting covered by The Marijuana Herald, Executive Director Andrew Turnage said the patient registry would "very soon" approach 65,000. Regulators set a five-day application period for Nov. 16 through Nov. 20 in anticipation of that milestone, the Herald reported, with another regularly scheduled window expected in January 2027.
Earlier this fall the commission already ran windows from late September and from Oct. 26 through Oct. 30 after the registry crossed 55,000. The Marijuana Herald previously reported 56,650 active patients as of Sept. 23, up from 36,703 at the end of June. Hemp Law Watch covered the October application window when it opened.
Why the patient numbers rose
Much of the recent growth followed the Putting Georgia's Patients First Act, which took effect July 1. WTOC reported that the law expanded qualifying conditions and allowed additional products, including marijuana flower intended for vaporization and concentrated products, while keeping smoked marijuana prohibited. The Marijuana Herald's Nov. 4 and Nov. 5 reports describe the same July 1 expansion as a driver of enrollment and of the commission's follow-on licensing rounds.
What this does not change
The Nov. 4 licenses are an administrative expansion inside Georgia's existing medical program. They do not legalize adult-use marijuana sales, do not authorize smoking, and do not alter federal controlled-substance law. Patients still need a qualifying condition and a registry card through the Georgia Department of Public Health, and only commission-licensed dispensaries (or separately licensed independent pharmacies for certain products) may dispense under the state medical framework described in the commission's materials and news coverage.
Business impact
For Trulieve, the two Atlanta licenses deepen an already large Georgia footprint that includes earlier stores such as Marietta, where the company marked a Georgia medical launch sale in a July 1 investor release that featured an exterior photo of that location. For True Bliss / TheraTrue, four new licenses in one day double the brand's licensed count, per The Marijuana Herald. Whether those six sites open quickly, slowly or not at all will depend on build-out, local approvals and company decisions that the commission list does not disclose.
Patients and local governments may see more access points if the new licenses become operating stores, especially in metro Atlanta and nearby suburbs named on the Nov. 4 rows. Communities that already host Trulieve, True Bliss or other brands could also see denser competition among the six producer-tied chains rather than a wave of brand-new operators, because outside companies cannot apply for these slots under the rules described by the Herald.
Context from the July expansion
WTOC's July 1 coverage of the Putting Georgia's Patients First Act described a program that had been limited for years and then widened for patients who already held cards or were newly eligible. Flower for vaporization and concentrates were among the product changes the station highlighted. That product shift helps explain why producers are racing for more dispensary slots even as federal hemp-THC rules tighten elsewhere: Georgia's medical channel is a state-licensed path for cannabis products that is separate from the intoxicating hemp retail fight playing out in other states and in Congress.
The commission's dual role
The same agency that issues production and dispensing licenses also publishes the public list used for this report. By updating Verify a License on Nov. 4 with six new ACTIVE rows and by announcing the mid-November application dates the same day, regulators signaled that Georgia's medical build-out is still in an expansion phase rather than a freeze. How fast that phase translates into open doors is the open question for patients in Northwest Atlanta, Camp Creek, Fayetteville, Marietta, Buford and the rest of the True Bliss Atlanta listing.
What to watch next
Three near-term markers are clear from the official list and the Herald's reporting. First, whether DISP0025 through DISP0030 move from licensed to open, which patients will only learn from company announcements or on-the-ground openings rather than from the license table alone. Second, whether the registry actually crosses 65,000 before or during the Nov. 16–20 window, unlocking the tenth dispensary slot per producer. Third, how many applications the six producers file in that window and in the January 2027 round, and how many the commission grants.
Hemp Law Watch will track the Nov. 16–20 application period, any commission updates to the Verify a License page, and openings tied to the Nov. 4 licenses. This report summarizes published official records and news coverage and is not legal, medical or investment advice.
Related legal context
Oct. 30: Georgia's medical cannabis dispensary application window closes after the patient registry passed 55,000
Georgia Authorities Execute Raids on Smoke Shops Selling Illegal THC Products
Illegal THC products seized during raids of four Georgia smoke shops
Source citation cards
Authorship is reported as a signal for editorial review. Automated checks cannot prove who wrote a document, so every card records what was found and what remains uncertain.
Verify a License (last updated Nov. 4, 2026 4:37 p.m. ET)
- Publisher
- Georgia Access to Medical Cannabis Commission
- Author
- No byline credited
- Published
- Nov 4, 2026
- Jurisdiction
- GA
- Severity
- No active alert
- Retrieval
- HTTP 200
Authorship signal — The page belongs to a Georgia state regulatory commission website.
Georgia Approves Six New Medical Marijuana Dispensary Licenses, Bringing Statewide Total to 28
- Publisher
- The Marijuana Herald
- Author
- Anthony Martinelli
- Published
- Nov 5, 2026
- Jurisdiction
- GA
- Severity
- No active alert
- Retrieval
- HTTP 200
Authorship signal — A specific individual is credited as the reporter for this article.
Georgia Announces New Medical Marijuana Dispensary Application Period as Patient Count Nears 65,000
- Publisher
- The Marijuana Herald
- Author
- Anthony Martinelli
- Published
- Nov 4, 2026
- Jurisdiction
- GA
- Severity
- No active alert
- Retrieval
- HTTP 200
Authorship signal — A specific individual is credited as the reporter for this article.
Georgia expands medical cannabis access under new law
- Publisher
- Gray Media / WTOC
- Author
- Stephanie Adkisson
- Published
- Jul 1, 2026
- Jurisdiction
- GA
- Severity
- No active alert
- Retrieval
- HTTP 200
Authorship signal — A specific individual is credited as the reporter for this news report.
Trulieve Commemorates Georgia Medical Cannabis Launch with First Sale
- Publisher
- Trulieve
- Author
- No byline credited
- Published
- Jul 1, 2026
- Jurisdiction
- GA
- Severity
- No active alert
- Retrieval
- HTTP 200
Authorship signal — The page is a corporate press release with no individual byline provided.
Warning: Authorship is unclear. If this source is relied on, the published report must carry a visible authorship warning.
Discussion
0 commentsLog in to join the discussion. Comments are public and appear with your name.
No comments yet. Be the first to add context.
